Ailsa Munro Physiotherapy Student Scholarship


Enrolment status Currently enrolled students
Student type Domestic students
Level of study Undergraduate, Honours, Postgraduate
Study area Health and Behavioural Sciences
Scholarship value $6000
Scholarship duration 1 year
Number awarded 4
Opening date 25 February 2020
Closing date 25 March 2020


The scholarship was established in 2011 and is maintained by the income of a bequest from Ailsa Munro, a greatly respected, retired physiotherapist, who graduated with the first cohort of students from the physiotherapy program at The University of Queensland in 1941.

The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage and support students who are undertaking study in the Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours) and Master of Physiotherapy Studies program.


To be eligible, you must: 

  • submit an application to the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences by the closing date; and
  • be a domestic student as determined by the University's Fee Policy; and
  • be enrolled in a relevant program; and
  • have completed either:
    • (i) the first two years of the Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Honours) program; or
    • (ii) the first year of the Master of Physiotherapy Studies program; and
  • be able to provide documentary evidence of financial need.
Applications are closed.

Before you get started

If this scholarship has rules, download and read them.

How to apply

Submit a completed application form, personal statement, and documentary evidence of financial need to the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences ( by the closing date.

Your 1 to 2 page personal statement should provide information about your interest in physiotherapy, your financial situation, and your personal qualities.

Selection criteria

For the selection process, the Head of School will establish a selection committee, comprising of:

  • the Head, or nominee, as chair of the committee; and
  • at least one member of the university's academic staff who is currently teaching in the program; and
  • a representative of the donor.

The scholarship is awarded to applicants showing the greatest merit as demonstrated by:

  • evidence of financial need; and
  • academic achievement in previous studies; and
  • strength of interest shown in physiotherapy; and
  • personal qualities; and
  • any other matter the selection committee considers to be relevant to the applicant's future success in the physiotherapy profession.

The selection committee may interview short-listed applicants.

Preference may be given to applicants from a rural areas.

Applications are closed.


School of Health and Behavioural Sciences
Applications are closed.

Terms and conditions

The recipient may hold the scholarship for 1 year, subject to the recipient:

  • achieving satisfactory academic progress; and
  • continuing to be enrolled full-time in a relevant program.

The scholarship will be paid to the recipient on finalisation of the scholarship process.

Applications are closed.