Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarship


Enrolment status Currently enrolled students
Student type Domestic students
Level of study Undergraduate
Study area Agriculture and Environment, Architecture and Planning, Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Engineering and Computing, Health and Behavioural Sciences, Law, Science and Mathematics
Scholarship value $12,000
Scholarship duration 1 or 2 semesters
Number awarded Up to 5
Opening date 17 June 2019
Closing date 10 January 2020

Scholarship description

The Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarship supports students who are interested in Asia, and want to actively contribute to Australia's success in Asia in their chosen field.

It provides the opportunity to:

  • study at a UQ exchange partner in Hong Kong SAR, Singapore or China for up to two semesters 
  • develop global leadership skills by participating in a leadership development program before starting your exchange.

A greater understanding of Asian culture, markets and languages will be vital to build stronger business and cultural connections across the region. Australia will need future leaders connected to those markets, and Asia-literacy will be critical to harness these opportunities in our region.


To be eligible, you must:

  • be enrolled a full-time (minimum 6 units) in an undergraduate program at UQ and have completed at least 12 units in their current program
  • have a minimum cumulative GPA of 5.0
  • not hold or intend to hold another merit-based scholarship for the purpose of tertiary study in Asia
  • be eligible for a 1 or 2 semester exchange (through UQ's Global Experiences) commencing in Semester 2, 2020, to any UQ exchange partner in the People's Republic of China, Hong Kong SAR or Singapore
  • meet the Westpac Asian Exchange Scholarship eligibility requirements.

Before you apply

If this scholarship has rules, download and read them before applying.

How to apply

Before you submit your application, you need to: 

  1. Check your eligbility for student exchange.
  2. Discuss your student exchange options with the Global Experiences team.
  3. Apply for student exchange by the appropriate deadline.

Once you have submitted your student exchange application, apply for the scholarship via the Westpac Scholars website. 

Go to the Westpac Scholars website to apply


Manager, Global Experiences Team, Student Employability Centre
(07) 3365 2852