At a glance

Available to: 
Current Student
Level of study: 
Year of study: 
2nd - 5th year
Australian and Permanent Residents or NZ citizens
Additional requirements: 
  • Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander
  • Financial Hardship
  • Rural / regional area

Awarded to 2nd year Australian Indigenous students.

Award value:
$5,000 (approximate, based on the last year of award)
The Senate may award a number of scholarships each year, on the recommendation of the Deputy President
Duration of program
Applications open: 
9 January 2017
Applications close: 
3 March 2017
  • Eligibility

    The scholarship is open to Indigenous students who:

    • have successfully completed at least one year of a program at a participating institution; and
    • are enrolled on a full-time basis for a subsequent year of that program or a further program at that or another participating institution.

    Participating institutions include the following:

    • The University of Queensland
    • Queensland University of Technology
    • University of Southern Queensland
    • Central Queensland University
    • Queensland TAFE Colleges
Established in 1987 and maintained by gifts from Mr Robert Noel Hammon. The purpose of the scholarship is to assist Australian indigenous students to undertake post-secondary study in Queensland.
Number awarded per year: 
Award benefits: