At a glance

Available to: 
Future Student
Current Student
Level of study: 
Postgraduate Research
Australian and Permanent Residents or NZ citizens

The APA scholarships are awarded competitively based on merit, to domestic students of exceptional research potential undertaking a research higher degree.

Award value:
$26,288 per annum (2016 rate), Indexed annually
Applications open: 
1 January 2015
Applications close: 
31 December 2017
  • Eligibility

    To be eligible, you must:

    • Be a domestic student studying full-time and onshore in Australia.^
    • Be nominated by the enrolling school or institute.
    • Be assessed by the Graduate School as meeting all conditions for admission to the  research higher degree program.
    • Have an academic qualification equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s degree with Honours Class I.
    • Not hold a qualification at the same or  a higher level than the research higher degree program you are undertaking.
    • Not previously have held a Commonwealth funded research higher degree scholarship, unless it was terminated within six months of the scholarship commencing or be a current APA holder transferring to UQ.
    • Not be receiving an award, scholarship  or salary providing a benefit greater than 75% of the APA  rate to undertake the  research higher degree program.

    ^A part-time student with carer’s responsibilities, a medical condition or a disability, which prevents them from studying full time may be eligible for scholarship consideration, on a case by case basis.

    Students can be considered for scholarship twice. Consideration can be prior to enrolment, or in any scholarship round up to and including the first round after the confirmation milestone is achieved.

    In instances where the candidate is awarded a scholarship after commencement there will be no retrospective payments of this scholarship.

    Further information about APA scholarships.

    Scholarship Rules:
    Commonwealth Scholarships Guidelines (Research)
    UQ Research Scholarships

These scholarships are funded by the Commonwealth Government to provide assistance for living costs and are awarded in two rounds each year.